In Louisiana, there are only two ways to get the HVAC License. You should graduate from a trade school situated there, or you can just show that you have already completed the internship. The main difference between these two is that trade school is expensive. It will cost you nearly 12,000$ to get your degree. On the other hand, starting your internship right after you finished high school will give you a great experience, but it will be a little bit harder. Both options can help you to become an expert; therefore, you should choose the most convenient way for you.
Another significant advantage is that Louisiana has an agreement with several other US states, which means that Louisiana’s HVAC license will consider legal there. Those states are: Arkansas, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, North Carolina, Kentucky, Ohio, Tennessee, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia and, Utah.
In total, there are 16 schools in Louisiana that offer programs for the students. These programs can last from six months to two years, and each of the programs has its cost. Some of the colleges that offer these studies in Louisiana are :
The only license that Louisiana offers is the Mechanical Work Contractor license. Moreover, this license has three main sub-licenses.
Basically, there are several types of exams and other necessary documents that you should have in order to receive the license. Those requirements are-
Trade exam is supervised by the Louisiana State Board of Contractors’ Department of Examinations and Assessment. It costs 120$, and it’s a closed book exam with 120 multiple-choice questions.
Law exams can be taken online. It is an open book exam, and it has 80 multiple-choice questions.
The business exam is very similar to the law exam. You can choose whether you want to give it at home or at the test center. This exam also has 80 multiple choice questions, and you need to write at least 70% right in order to pass the exam.
However, there is one important mark, people who already have one of these licenses mentioned below, are not required to take the HVAC trade exam-
The HVAC license is valid for only one year. Therefore, before that one year expires, you should start the renewing process. Consequently, for renewing the HVAC license, you just need to pass six weeks of training and pay a small amount fee.
It surely is!
This is because experts that have Louisiana HVAC license receive nearly $43,000 in one year. However, in some cases, the salary can be up to $62,000. The amount is changeable, and it mainly depends on the amount and quality of work.